Parade #15, 2019 © Mark Neville  

Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2020 Shortlist Announcement

The four artists shortlisted for the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2020 are Mohamed Bourouissa; Anton Kusters; Mark Neville and Clare Strand.

La Prise, 2008 From the series PERIPHÉRIE © Mohamed Bourouissa, Kamel Mennour, Paris & London and Blum & Poe, Los Angeles

The Blue Skies Project contact sheet © Anton Kusters

The Discrete Channel with Noise: Information Source #3 © Clare Strand

Now in its twenty-fourth year, this highly regarded annual prize, originated by The Photographers’ Gallery in 1996 and awarded in collaboration with the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation since 2016, recognises artists and projects deemed to have made the most significant contribution to photography over the previous 12 months.

This year’s shortlist celebrates the breadth and diversity of photography and its power to interrogate some of the most important issues facing us today. Mohamed Bourouissa’s work has collaboration at its heart, and proposes new ways of addressing issues around labour, consumption and the nature of financial exchange; Anton Kusters deals with the difficult and ethical question of how to photograph and document trauma; Mark Neville operates at the intersection of documentary, art & activism with a photographic portrait of a farming community in Brittany; and Clare Strand combines conceptual rigour with playfulness through an experiment in making and transmitting images via telegraphic communication. Together they convey the extraordinary ability and generosity of the photographic form to accommodate and give voice to a diverse range of practice and enquiry.

The exhibition of the shortlisted projects, curated by Anna Dannemann, will be on show at The Photographers’ Gallery from 21 February – 7 June 2020, before touring to Deutsche Börse's headquarters in Eschborn/Frankfurt on 26 June 2020.

The winner of the £30,000 prize will be announced at a special award ceremony held at The Photographers’ Gallery on Thursday 14 May 2020.