Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize

Identifying and rewarding talent, excellence and innovation in the photographic medium.

Install shot from DBPFP18, Kate Elliott

Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize

Identifying and rewarding talent, excellence and innovation in the photographic medium.

The Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize is an annual exhibition and award of £30,000 presented at The Photographers’ Gallery, London (and subsequently to select venues). Originally established by the Gallery in 1996 as the UK’s first dedicated photography award, it continues to identify, debate and celebrate innovative and original photographic practice from across the world.

Open to any living photographer and body of work (across any format or genre) produced and/or exhibited in Europe the previous year, the Prize rewards outstanding contribution towards the photographic medium and reflects the myriad ways photography engages with the world today.    

2021 marked the Prize’s 25-year anniversary, since it's inception, and reaffirms its position as a barometer of talent and excellence, introducing photographers and works that exemplify exceptional viewpoints and bold practice to wide audiences.  

Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation

The Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation is a Frankfurt-based non-profit organisation. The foundation activities focus on collecting, exhibiting and promoting contemporary photography. Deutsche Börse began to build up its collection of contemporary photography in 1999. Art Collection Deutsche Börse now comprises more than 1,600 works by over 100 international artists. Expanding the Art Collection Deutsche Börse is one of the key aims of the foundation. The collection and a changing exhibition programme are open to the public. Together with The Photographers' Gallery in London, the foundation awards the renowned Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize each year. Other focal points include promoting new talent, supporting exhibition projects of international museums and institutions, and the expansion of platforms for academic discussion about the medium.

Further information:

Previous Winners

1997 Richard Billingham
1998 Andreas Gursky
1999 Rineke Dijkstra
2000 Anna Gaskell
2001 Boris Mikhailov
2002 Shirana Shahbazi
2003 Juergen Teller
2004 Joel Sternfeld
2005 Luc Delahaye
2006 Robert Adams
2007 Walid Raad
2008 Esko Männikko
2009 Paul Graham
2010 Sophie Ristelhueber
2011 Jim Goldberg
2012 John Stezaker
2013 Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin
2014 Richard Mosse
2015 Mikhael Subotzky & Patrick Waterhouse
2016 Trevor Paglen
2017 Dana Lixenberg
2018 Luke Willis Thompson 
2019 Susan Meiselas
2020 Mohamed Bourouissa
2021 Cao Fei

Install shot from DBPFP Alec Sloth

The Photography Prize 1996-2006: A First Decade Account

Get an insight into this photography prize from its earliest conception. 

Read More